Château des Ormes
Château des Ormes, on the banks of the River Vienne, was built by the Pussort brothers, Colbert's uncles, from 1642 onwards. It was acquired in 1729 by Count Marc-Pierre Voyer d'Argenson, Louis XV's Minister of War and a friend of Diderot and D'Alembert, who dedicated the Encyclopédie to him. It was home to many famous guests, including Voltaire.
The château is open to the public, who can explore its beautiful, vast main courtyard, bordered by the Pussort and D'Argenson wings, its large marble-paved entrance hall and superb staircase, its former 18th- and 19th-century kitchens, an 18th-century ice-house, a rare 1902 motorboat and a 1906 power station.
Exhibitions - Artistic and cultural events - Room hire for weddings, seminars and groups.
Nearby: the Poste aux Chevaux and the Communauté des Bateliers des Ormes.
Groupe accepté à partir de 10 personnes